Orchestra Victoria

The Eight Seasons

Orchestra Victoria

210303 Sulki Yu 2012 R copy

Discover two extraordinary interpretations of the natural world and the ways it shapes us.

Book now
  • Melbourne / Naarm

    Thursday May 2, 7.30pm

    Elisabeth Murdoch Hall
    Melbourne Recital Centre
    31 Sturt St, Southbank

  • Duration

    approximately 1hr 30min with interval

  • Ticket Price Range

    $34 - $69

Join the musicians of Orchestra Victoria as we explore two extraordinary interpretations of nature's beauty and the seasons that shape our world.

Play-directed by one of Australia’s most remarkable violinists, Sulki Yu (Concertmaster), The Eight Seasons intertwines two works of unparalleled charisma, journeying us throughout the world and around the sun. Featuring music’s most iconic violin solos in the stunning acoustic of Melbourne Recital Centre’s Elizabeth Murdoch Hall, this concert offers a captivating night out for all.

We open with Spring from Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, with the composer’s extraordinary Summer, Autumn and Winter woven to follow. Vivaldi’s creations of timeless, cinematic opulence are not only among the most celebrated works of all time, but have inspired generations of programmatic output since their conception. From the music’s vivid storytelling to its boundless and deliberate energy, The Four Seasons invites audiences on a transcendental voyage through both time and place.

Woven throughout Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons is Piazzolla’s The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires, a suite enveloped by the colour, richness and intense spirit of Argentine geography - and who better to bring this to life than the tango-inspired Argentine composer himself? Written in 1969 and rearranged throughout history for a variety of instruments, Piazzolla’s works dance through this concert, offering spice, character and Piazzolla’s unique sense of improvisatory playfulness.

Across one remarkable program, The Eight Seasons gets you up-close-and-personal with the unique textures, narratives and emotions of this enchanting repertoire.

About Sulki Yu

To learn more about our Concertmaster, view Sulki's biography.

Shot 53 Sulki 6382


Antonio Vivaldi – The Four Seasons
Astor Piazzolla arr. Desyatnikov - The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires


Orchestra Victoria
Featuring Concertmaster Sulki Yu

The Music

Discover Vivaldi and Piazzolla’s timeless and celebrated works, interwoven to create The Eight Seasons.

Buy Tickets
210303 Sulki Yu 2012 R copy