Orchestra Victoria

From Darkness to Light: Concert Program

Concert 2 Photo Pierre Toussaint Paul Champion and Musicians of OV 2500x1780

Thursday 22nd August, 7:30pm

Hanson Dyer Hall, Ian Potter Southbank Centre

📱 Mobile Devices

Please take a moment to silence and dim the screen on your device(s) so that everyone can enjoy the show.

Program Order

Henry Purcell - Music from the Funeral of Queen Mary

  • March
  • Funeral Sentences
  • Canzona
  • March

Edward Elgar - Introduction and Allegro, op. 47


Ludwig van Beethoven - Symphony No. 7 in A Major

  • I. Poco sostenuto - Vivace
  • II. Allegretto
  • III. Presto
  • IV. Allegro con brio


Acknowledgement of Country

We acknowledge the Traditional Owners of the land on which we work, the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people of the Eastern Kulin Nations. We pay our respects to their Elders past and present, and to all First Nations people across Australia, whose traditions of music making and storytelling have continued on this land for millennia.

Welcome to Orchestra Victoria's Southbank Series

Jacinta Ewers, General Manager

Jacinta Ewers
General Manager

Jessica Gethin, Artistic Advisor

Jessica Gethin
Artistic Advisor

Jonathan Lo, Conductor

Jonathan Lo
Music Director & Chief Conductor of The Australian Ballet

Join our mailing list

Stay up to date with Orchestra Victoria's latest news by signing up to our mailing list today.

Sign Up

Pulcinella Suite

Associate Principal Viola Thomas Higham on the story of the Pulcinella Suite, Igor Stravinsky and why the Southbank Series is not to be missed.

RB2249 OV South Bank Series 1920 x 1080


Orchestra Victoria


Sulki Yu - Chair supported by Lady Southey AC

Deputy Concertmaster
Yi Wang - Chair supported by Susan & Leith Campbell

Section Principal First Violin
Tony Zhai

Section Principal Second Violin
Monica Naselow
- Chair supported by Peter Griffin AM & Terry Swann

Associate Principal First Violin
Tomomi Brennan

Associate Principal First Violin
Erica Kennedy

Acting Associate Principal Second Violin
Matt Hassall - Chair Supported by Mr Russell and Dr Jenni Jenkins

Alyssa Conrau
Rachael Hunt
Philip Nixon
John Noble

Rebecca Shirley - Chair supported by Mr Andrew Fairley AM
Edwina Kayser *
Lynette Rayner *
Sophia Shaw * - Richard Bonyge Fellow


Section Principal
Paul McMillan - Chair supported by Ms Linda Herd

Associate Principal
Thomas Higham

Nadine Delbridge
Matthew Laing *


Section Principal
Melissa Chominsky

Associate Principal
Diane Froomes

Sarah Cuming
- Chair supported by Angela Kayser
Philippa Gardner
Tania Hardy-Smith


Section Principal
Stuart Riley
- Chair supported by Don & Angela Mercer

Associate Principal
Kylie Davies

Matthew Thorne


Section Principal
Lisa-Maree Amos - Chair supported by Peter Griffin AM & Terry Swann

Associate Principal
Jessie Gu

Rebecca Johnson *


Acting Section Principal
Joshua de Graaf

Associate Principal
Jasper Ly *


Section Principal
Paul Champion

Associate Principal
Justin Beere

Principal Bass Clarinet
Robin Henry *


Section Principal
Lyndon Watts *

Associate Principal
Colin Forbes-Abrams *


Section Principal
Andrew Young

Associate Principal
Roman Ponomariov *

Principal Third Horn
Linda Hewett

Sharon Hatton *


Section Principal
Mark Fitzpatrick

Associate Principal
Timothy Francis

Sophie Spencer *


Principal Bass Trombone
Ben Anderson


Section Principal
Guy du Blêt

Associate Principal Timpani/Tutti Percussion
Scott Weatherson *

* Denotes guest musician

The Soldier's Tale

Principal Bass Trombone Benjamin Anderson shares his insights on Stravinsky’s The Soldier’s Tale

RB2249 OV The Soldier39s Tale 1920 x 1080

About Orchestra Victoria

Explore our full list of musicians, management and supporters at the links below:

Concert Partners


About Hanson Dyer Hall

The beautiful recital hall at the heart of The University of Melbourne's Conservatorium building, opened in Southbank in 2019, is named after Louise Hanson-Dyer.

Read more about Louise Hanson Dyer here